Sunday, August 21, 2011

Different kind of Lock processes

An RDBMS processes a large number of transactions simultaneously. A lock synchronizes simultaneous accesses to an object. When a transaction access an object, the object is temporarily locked to prevent other transactions from accessing it simultaneously.

The type of lock determines which operations from other transactions can be executed on the locked object. Types of locks are:
1) Shared (S) : Used for operations that do not change or update data (read-only operations), such as SELECT statement.
2) Exclusive (E) : Used for data modification operations, such as UPDATE, INSERT or DELETE. This type of lock ensures that multiple updates cannot be made to the same resource at the same time.
3) Update (U) : Used on resources that can be updated. This type of lock prevents a common form of deadlock that occurs when multiple sessions are reading, locking, and potentially updating resources later.
4) Intent (I) : Used to establish a lock hierarchy.
5) Schema (Sch) : Used when an operation dependent on the schema of table is being executed.

 Lock resources:


  1. Thanks for sharing great information in your blog. Got to learn new things from your Blog . It was very nice blog to learn about SAP BASIS.

  2. Thanks for a great information in your blog. I have read all the post of your blog. Great work on sap basis training in chennai

  3. Thanks for sharing this article! Has cleared many of the doubts.
    For information on SAP Basis visit
    sap netweaver training in hyderabad

  4. Superb explanation & it's too clear to understand the concept as well, keep sharing admin with some updated information with right examples.Keep update more posts.

    SAP MM Training in Chennai

    SAP HR Training in Chennai